Empowering Voters. Defending Democracy.

South Nassau Water Authority

South Nassau Water Authority

The Town of Hempstead Has Appointed Commissioners to the South Nassau County Water Authority Board.

John Reinhardt – Town of Hempstead Commissioner of Water
Laura Ryder – Village of Lynbrook Trustee
Joseph Baker – President of the South Merrick Community Civic Association

NYS law provides for five commissioners with two appointed by the Nassau County legislature. As far as we know, these two Commissioners have not yet been appointed.

The South Nassau Water Authority, an independent body created by the State Legislature, will oversee a district that currently receives water service from New York American Water. This private water provider that was recently sold to Liberty Utilities, has drawn the ire of frustrated ratepayers who have been paying outrageously high rates for many years compared tothose served by municipal water providers.

While announcing the members of the South Nassau Water Authority, the Hempstead Town Supervisor and Council Members renewed their call for the Governor and the South Shore’s State Senate representatives to provide fair and adequate funding for costs associated with the establishment and operations of the new independent body. The members noted that the North Shore Water Authority — which represents over 5,000 American Water Customers — receives $1 million annually in state funds, while the South Shore Water Authority — which represents over 110,000 customers – receives no funding under the bill approved by the state Legislature and signed into law by the Governor in November of 2021.


About the author